Service Branches

Army National Guard

The Army National Guard is community-based and reports to the governor of its respective state unless called to protect U.S. domestic interests in times of conflict or natural disaster. They may also be deployed internationally alongside full-time service members when necessary. Today's National Guard fields troops from all U.S. states and territories. Each unit operates independently. Members of the National Guard hold civilian jobs or attend school while conducting their military training part time.

Learn more: Army National Guard

The U.S. National Guard: Always Ready, Always There

The U.S. National Guard provides the flexibility to serve while also working in a civilian career.

Length 1:06 View Transcript


Before Serving in the Army National Guard

To enlist in the Army National Guard, you must be between 18 and 35 years old (17 with parental consent). You must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. A high school diploma is preferred, but a high school equivalent such as the GED may also be accepted. You must also take the ASVAB test and a physical fitness exam.

All National Guard members must complete 10 weeks of Basic Combat Training, the same boot camp attended by full-time Army Soldiers.

Army National Guard Careers

Army National Guard Careers

Army National Guard training can provide you with valuable on-the-job career-skills training. Add qualities like dedication and responsibility to this training, and you have a compelling mix of traits that future employers might look for. Whether a service member's job in the Guard mirrors or complements his or her civilian career, time spent serving is a valuable asset.

Army National Guard Benefits

Members of the Army National Guard are fairly compensated for all hours spent training, drilling or deployed. The Guard allows members to train close to home while maintaining civilian careers or pursuing further education. This provides a valuable experience that benefits individuals at home and while serving.

Types of Military Service

The U.S. Military consists of six active-duty Service branches and their respective Guard and Reserve components. Together, they offer a broad variety of ways to serve.